Quality Assurance Certifications

A list of QA certifications

Technician using digital tablet in server room
Getty Images/Erik Isakson/Blend Images

When we think of IT (information technology) we tend to focus on development, network, and database issues. It's easy to forget that before sending work out to the user, there is a crucial middleman. That person or team is quality assurance (QA).

QA comes in many forms, from the developer who tests her own code, to the testing gurus who work with automated testing tools. Many vendors and groups have recognized testing as an integral part of the development and maintenance process and have developed certifications to standardize and demonstrate knowledge of the QA process and testing tools.

Vendors That Offer Testing Certifications

Vendor-Neutral Testing Certifications

  • ISTQB Certified Tester, Foundation Level (CTFL) — The Foundation Level qualification is aimed at professionals who need to demonstrate practical knowledge of the fundamental concepts of software testing. This includes people in roles such as test designers, test analysts, test engineers, test consultants, test managers, user acceptance testers and IT Professionals.
    The Foundation Level qualification is also appropriate for anyone who needs a basic understanding of software testing, such as project managers, quality managers, software development managers, business analysts, IT directors, and management consultants.
  • Quality Improvement Associate Certification (CQIA) — The Certified Quality Improvement Associate has a basic knowledge of quality tools and their uses and is involved in quality improvement projects, but doesn't necessarily come from a traditional quality area.
  • Certified Test Manager (CTM) — The CTM Certification was developed based on the Test Management Body of Knowledge (TMBOK) to fill the gap in the management skills required by test managers and test leads to effectively manage the test process, the test project and the test organization. 
  • Certified Software Test Professional (CSTP) — CSTP is the short form for “Certified Software Test Professional." This was initiated by International Institute for Software Testing (IIST) in 1991, and so far has been successful in enhancing the career of thousands of aspirants by providing the professional skill set for software application testing. This certification program could be taken by any newcomer in the testing field as well as for the managers and leaders in the testing field.
  • Six Sigma Black Belt Certification (CSSBB) — The Certified Six Sigma Black Belt is a professional who can explain Six Sigma philosophies and principles, including supporting systems and tools. A Black Belt should demonstrate team leadership, understand team dynamics and assign team member roles and responsibilities. Black Belts have a thorough understanding of all aspects of the DMAIC model in accordance with Six Sigma principles. They have basic knowledge of Lean enterprise concepts, are able to identify non-value-added elements and activities and are able to use specific tools.
  • Certified Software Quality Analyst (CSQA) — Prove your level proficiency as a manager or advisor when it comes to IT principles and practices of quality assurance when you become Certified Software Quality Analyst certified.

Although this list is short, the links above go to sites that offer more niche certifications for you to research. Those listed here are respected in IT and are a must-have for anyone considering an entry into the world of testing and Quality Assurance.

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Reuscher, Dori. "Quality Assurance Certifications." ThoughtCo, Aug. 26, 2020, thoughtco.com/qa-and-software-testing-certification-4005371. Reuscher, Dori. (2020, August 26). Quality Assurance Certifications. Retrieved from https://www.thoughtco.com/qa-and-software-testing-certification-4005371 Reuscher, Dori. "Quality Assurance Certifications." ThoughtCo. https://www.thoughtco.com/qa-and-software-testing-certification-4005371 (accessed April 1, 2023).