Islam's Holy Text

The holy book of Islam is called the Quran. Learn all about the history of the Quran, its themes and organization, language and translations, and how it is to be read and handled.


Islam - The Holy Koran
Steve Allen/Getty Images

The Quran is organized into chapters called surah, and verses called ayat. In addition, the entire text is divided into 30 sections called ajiza', in order to facilitate its reading over a month-long period.

  • The Ajiza' (Sections) of the Quran


The themes of the Quran are interwoven among the chapters, not in chronological or theme order.

What Does the Quran Say About...

Language and Translation

While only the text of the original Arabic Quran is identical and unchanged since its revelation, various translations and interpretations are also available.

Reading and Recitation

Quran Reciters

The Prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him, instructed his followers to “beautify the Quran with your voices” (Abu Dawud). Recitation of the Quran is a precise and melodious undertaking, and those who do it well preserve and share the beauty of the Quran with the world.

Exegesis (Tafseer)

As an accompaniment to the Quran, it is helpful to have an exegesis or commentary to refer to as you read along. While many English translations contain footnotes, certain passages may need extra explanation, or need to be placed in a more complete context.

Handling and Disposal

In reverence to the holiness of the Quran, one must handle it and dispose of it in a respectful way.