The Randolph Caldecott Medal Current and Past Winners

and the Caldecott Medal Winner and Honor Books Are...

Waiting by Kevin Henkes - picture book cover
Waiting, 2016 Caldecott Honor Book. Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins

About the Randolph Caldecott Medal

In the United States, receiving the Randolph Caldecott Medal is the highest honor an artist can achieve for children's book illustration. The Caldecott awards are administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). The award is named after Randolph Caldecott, a nineteenth century English illustrator who was known for his picture book illustrations.

According to ALSC, the Caldecott Medal is an annual award. and children's picture books published in the previous year in English in the U.S. are eligible as long as the artwork is original and the artist is a U.S. citizen or a resident of the United States. The Medal honors the year's "most distinguished American picture book for children."

The 2016 Caldecott Medal Winner and Honor Books

The 2016 Caldecott Medal winner is Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear. Sophie Blackall is the illustrator and Lindsay Mattick the author of the story of the bear who became the inspiration for A.A. Milne's Winnie-the-Pooh. To learn more about the story's background, history, author and illustrations, watch the excellent Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear video from the publisher. (Little, Brown and Company, an division of Hachette Book Group, Inc., 2015. ISBN: 978-0316324908)

2016 Caldecott Honor Books

Four children's picture books were selected as 2016 Caldecott Honor Books. Two of them are on my Best Illustrated Picture Books of 2015 list.

  • Trombone Shorty - The painting and collage mixed media illustrations by Bryan Collier and the words by New Orleans musician Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews make this picture book autobiography sing. (Abrams Books for Young Readers, an imprint of ABRAMS, 2015. ISBN: 9781419714658)
  • Waiting, illustrated and written by Kevin Henkes (Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2015. ISBN: 9780062368430). For more information, read my summary of Waiting.
  • Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement - Illustrated with dramatic collage by Ekua Holmes, Voice of Freedom is a biography in verse written by Carole Boston Weatherford for ages 10 and up. (Candlewick Press, 2015. ISBN: 9780763665319)
  • Last Stop on Market Street, illustrated by Christian Robinson and written by Matt de la Peña Last Stop on Market Street is also the 2016 John Newbery Medal winner for young people's literature. (G. P. Putnam’s Sons, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), 2015.

Past Randolph Caldecott Medal Winners and Honor Books

In most years, in addition to the Caldecott Medal winner, several books are designated Caldecott Honor Books for the quality of their illustrations. For Caldecott Medal winners from 1938 to 2013. To learn more about recent Caldecott Medal winners and Caldecott Honor Books, see:

There are many wonderful children's books on these lists, and I hope you will have the time to look over the lists and select some of these picture books to share with your children.