Timeline of the Russian Revolutions: 1906 - 1913

Russian woman speaking to group of revolutionaries.
Russian revolutionaries meeting in Terioki, Russia 1906.   Getty Images / De Agostini / Biblioteca Ambrosiana


• January 9-10: Vladivostok experiences an armed uprising.
• January 11: Rebels create the Vladivostok Republic.
• January 19: The Vladivostok Republic is overturned by Tsarist forces.

• February 16: The Kadets condemn strikes, land seizures and the Moscow Uprising as they try to secure the new political scene against further revolution.
• February 18: New punishments for those seeking to undermine government offices and agencies by verbal or written 'inaccuracy'.
• February 20: Tsar announces the structure of the State Duma and State Council.

• March 4: Provisional Rules guarantee rights of assembly and of association; this and the Duma allows political parties to legally exist in Russia; many form.

• April: Stolypin becomes Minister of Interior.
• April 23: Fundamental Laws of the Empire published, including the creation of the State Duma and State Council; the former is composed of 500 delegates drawn from every Russian region and class. The Laws are cleverly written to meet the October Promises, but not diminish the Tsar's power.
• April 26: Provisional Laws abolish preliminary censorship.
• April 27: The First State Duma opens, boycotted by the left.

• June 18: Hertenstein, a Duma Deputy of the Kadet party, is killed by the Union of Russian People.

• July 8: The first Duma is deemed too radical by the Tsar and is closed.
• July 10: Vyborg Manifesto, when radicals - mainly Kadets - call for the people to snub the government via a tax and military boycott. The people don't and the 200 Duma signatories are tried; from this point, the Kadets separate themselves from the views of 'the people'.
• July 17-20: Sveaborg Mutiny.
• July 19-29: Further mutiny in Kronstadt.

• August 12: Fringe SR's bomb Stolypin's summer home, killing over 30 people - but not Stolypin.
• August 19: The government creates a special court-martial to deal with political incidents; over 60,000 are executed, imprisoned or exiled by the system.

• September 15: The government orders its local branches to use 'any means' in maintaining public order, including aiding loyalist groups; political parties are threatened by the Tsar.
• September - November: Members of the St. Petersburg Soviet tried. Thanks to Trotsky's grandstanding, few are convicted, but he is exiled.

• January 30: Union of Russian Peoples try to murder Witte. • February 20: The Second State Duma opens, dominated by the left who cease their boycott.
• March 14: Iollos, a Duma Deputy of the Kadet party, is killed by the Union of Russian People.
• May 27: Union of Russian Peoples try to murder Witte again.
• 3 June: The Second Duma is also deemed too radical and closed; Stolypin alters the Duma voting system in favor of the wealthy and landed in a move branded his coup d'etat.
• July: Stolypin becomes Prime Minister.
• November 1: The Third Duma Opens. Mainly Octobrist, Nationalist, and Rightist, it generally did as it was told. The failure of the Duma causes people to turn away from liberal or democratic groups in favor of radicals.

• 1911: Stolypin is assassinated by a Socialist Revolutionary (who was also a Police agent); he was hated by the left and the right.

• 1912 - Two hundred striking workers shot during the Lena Goldfield Massacre; reaction to this sparks another year of unrest. The fourth state Duma is elected from a far broader political spectrum than the third as the Octobrist and Nationalist parties divide and collapse; the Duma and government are soon in heavy disagreement.
• 1912 - 14: Strikes begin to grow, with 9000 during the period; Bolshevik trade unions and slogans grow.
• 1912 - 1916: Rasputin, a monk and favorite of the Imperial family, accepts sexual favors for political influence; his carousel of government appointments creates great division.

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Wilde, Robert. "Timeline of the Russian Revolutions: 1906 - 1913." ThoughtCo, Apr. 5, 2023, thoughtco.com/russian-revolutions-1906-1913-1221817. Wilde, Robert. (2023, April 5). Timeline of the Russian Revolutions: 1906 - 1913. Retrieved from https://www.thoughtco.com/russian-revolutions-1906-1913-1221817 Wilde, Robert. "Timeline of the Russian Revolutions: 1906 - 1913." ThoughtCo. https://www.thoughtco.com/russian-revolutions-1906-1913-1221817 (accessed June 10, 2023).