Senior Players Championship

Facts, history, winners of the senior golf major

Bernhard Langer acknowledges the fans at the 2016 Senior Players Championship
Bernhard Langer (doffing his cap) won three consecutive Senior Players Championship in 2014-16. Hunter Martin/Getty Images

One of the five majors on the Champions Tour (but not counted as a major by the European Senior Tour), the event's full, current title is Constellation Energy Senior Players Championship. Constellation Energy has been the title sponsor since 2007.

The tournament was founded in 1983, joining the pre-existing Senior PGA Championship and U.S. Senior Open as senior majors at that time. This tourney is the senior golf version of The Players Championship on the PGA Tour, and the Senior Players Championship winner receives an exemption into the following year's Players Championship.

2019 Bridgestone Senior Players

  • When: July 11-14, 2019
  • Where: Firestone Country Club in Akron, Ohio

2018 Tournament
Vijay Singh won his first senior major, and it came in a playoff. Singh and Jeff Maggert finished regulation tied at 20-under 268. But Singh won it on the second playoff hole with a birdie to Maggert's par. It was Singh's third win overall on the Champions Tour.

2017 Tournament
Bernhard Langer and Brandt Jobe had birdie putts on the final hole to tie Scott McCarron and force a playoff, but neither made the putt. And that made McCarron the champion. McCarron shot 66 in the final round to Langer's 73 and Jobe's 72 and finished at 18-under 270. It was his fourth career Champions Tour win and his first win in a major.

2016 Senior Players Championship
A 15-foot par-saving putt on the final hole gave Bernhard Langer his third consecutive victory in this senior major. Langer, who also won it in 2014-15, shot 73 in the final round to finish at 1-over 281.

He bogeyed the 71st hole and had trouble on the final hole after a wayward drive and approach into a bunker. Langer blasted out but was left with the 15-footer for par. Had he missed, he would have fallen into a playoff against runners-up Miguel Angel Jimenez and Joe Durant.

Official Website

Senior Players Championship Scoring Records

  • 72 holes: 261 - Jack Nicklaus, 1990; Kenny Perry, 2013
  • 18 holes: 62 - Olin Browne, 2012

Senior Players Championship Golf Courses

The tournament in 2017 is at Caves Valley Golf Club in Baltimore, after taking place in 2016 at Philadelphia Cricket Club in Pennsylvania. The tournament has changed venues several times throughout its history. From 1993-2006, TPC Michigan was the event site. After that, it took place at Westchester Country Club in New York. From 1983-86, it was played at Canterbury Golf Club. Other courses to host the Senior Players Championship include Sawgrass Country Club, the Valley Course at TPC Sawgrass, Dearborn Country Club, Baltimore Country Club and TPC Potomoc.

Senior Players Championship Trivia and Notes

  • Four golfers have won the Senior Players Championship more than once: Arnold Palmer (1984-85), Dave Stockton (1992, 1994), Raymond Floyd (1996, 2000) and Bernhard Langer (2014-15-16).
  • Not only is Langer the only 3-time winner so far, but Langer's victories came in consecutive years, 2014, 2015 and 2016.
  • Jack Nicklaus came close to adding a second. After winning in 1990, Nicklaus lost the 1995 tournament in a playoff to J.C. Snead.
  • When Nicklaus won in 1990, he set the 72-hole tournament scoring record of 261. That was 10 strokes better than the previous record at that time. In 2013, Kenny Perry matched Nicklaus' record.
  • Three golfers have won both The Players Championship on the PGA Tour and the Senior Players Championship on the Champions Tour: Nicklaus, Floyd and Fred Couples.

Senior Players Championship Winners

(p-won playoff; w-shortened by weather)

Constellation Energy Senior Players Championship
2018 - Vijay Singh-p, 268
2017 - Scott McCarron, 270
2016 - Bernhard Langer, 281
2015 - Bernhard Langer, 265
2014 - Bernhard Langer-p, 265
2013 - Kenny Perry, 261
2012 - Joe Daley, 266
2011 - Fred Couples-p, 273
2010 - Mark O'Meara-p, 273
2009 - Jay Haas, 267
2008 - D.A. Weibring, 271
2007 - Loren Roberts, 267

Ford Senior Players Championship
2006 - Bobby Wadkins, 274
2005 - Peter Jacobsen, 273
2004 - Mark James, 275
2003 - Craig Stadler, 271
2002 - Stewart Ginn, 274
2001 - Allen Doyle-p, 273
2000 - Raymond Floyd, 273
1999 - Hale Irwin, 267
1998 - Gil Morgan, 267
1997 - Larry Gilbert, 274
1996 - Raymond Floyd, 275
1995 - J.C.

Snead-p, 272
1994 - Dave Stockton, 271
1993 - Jim Colbert, 278

Mazda Presents The Senior Players Championship
1992 - Dave Stockton, 277
1991 - Jim Albus, 279

Mazda Senior Tournament Players Championship
1990 - Jack Nicklaus, 261
1989 - Orville Moody, 271
1988 - Billy Casper, 278
1987 - Gary Player, 280

Senior Tournament Players Championship
1986 - Chi Chi Rodriguez-w, 206
1985 - Arnold Palmer, 274
1984 - Arnold Palmer, 276
1983 - Miller Barber, 278