ShopRite LPGA Classic

Tournament winners, plus history and trivia for the LPGA Tour stop

Anna Nordqvist of Sweden imitates taking a selfie with the championship trophy after winning the ShopRite LPGA Classic presented by Acer on the Bay Course at the Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club on May 31, 2015 in Galloway, New Jersey
Anna Nordqvist's 'selfie' with the trophy after winning the 2015 ShopRite Classic. Hunter Martin/Getty Images

The ShopRite LPGA Classic returned to the LPGA Tour in 2010 following a 3-year absence. It returned to its traditional venue outside Atlantic City, N.J., and to its traditional early June dates on the LPGA schedule.

2018 ShopRite Classic

  • When: June 8-10
  • Where: Stockton Seaview Golf Club in Galloway, New Jersey

2017 Tournament
I.K. Kim turned back Anna Nordqvist's attempt to win this tournament for the third consecutive time.

Kim finished at 202 in the victory, beating runner-up Nordqvist - the 2015 and 2016 champ - by two shots. It was Kim's fourth career win on the LPGA Tour.

2016 ShopRite LPGA Classic
Anna Nordqvist won for the second consecutive year in this event, becoming the tournament's first back-to-back champ. Nordqvist also tied the tournament's scoring record of 196. She did it with a final-round 64 that included seven birdies and no bogeys. Haru Nomura was runner-up, one behind.

Official Website
LPGA Tournament site

ShopRite LPGA Classic Records:

  • 18 holes: 62 - Laura Davies, 2005; Jimin Kang, 2005; Jennifer Johnson, 2014
  • 54 holes: 196 - Annika Sorenstam, 1998; Annika Sorenstam, 2005; Anna Nordqvist, 2016

ShopRite LPGA Classic Golf Courses:

The tournament is currently played at the Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club in Gallaway, N.J., outside Atlantic City. The tournament takes place on the resort's Bay Course.

The same resort (but a different course) was the site of the first playing of this event in 1986, when the facility was called the Marriott Seaview Country Club & Resort. Later, the facility went by the name Seaview Marriott Resort, and this tournament has most often taken place at this facility. It has also been played at Sands Country Club and Great Bay Resort & Country Club.

ShopRite LPGA Classic Trivia and Notes:

  • The tournament was first played in 1986, with Juli Inkster as the first winner. Inkster won again in 1988.
  • The ShopRite LPGA Classic was played yearly on the LPGA schedule from 1986 through 2006, but then was discontinued. It rejoined the LPGA schedule beginning in 2010.
  • The tournament has been 54 holes in length for all but one year of its history. In 1990, Chris Johnson won the only 72-hole version of the ShopRite LPGA Classic.
  • Betsy King and Annika Sorenstam share the tournament record for most victories, with three wins each here.
  • Speaking of King, her 30th career LPGA victory happened at the 1995 tournament, which, under the LPGA's Hall of Fame requirements, automatically qualified King for induction into the World Golf Hall of Fame.
  • And more King: Her 34th and final LPGA win happened at the 2001 ShopRite LPGA Classic.
  • There has been only one playoff in tournament history. That happened in 1988 when Juli Inkster defeated Beth Daniel in extra holes.
  • Anna Nordqvist won in 2015, then won again in 2016 - becoming the tournament's first-ever repeat champion. Going for three in a row in 2017, Nordqvist finished second.

Winners of the ShopRite LPGA Classic

(p-won playoff)

ShopRite LPGA Classic
2017 - I.K. Kim, 202
2016 - Anna Nordqvist, 196
2015 - Anna Nordqvist, 205
2014 - Stacy Lewis, 197
2013 - Karrie Webb, 209
2012 - Stacy Lewis, 201
2011 - Brittany Lincicome, 202
2010 - Ai Miyazato, 197
2007-09 - Not played
2006 - Seon Hwa Lee, 197
2005 - Annika Sorenstam, 196
2004 - Cristie Kerr, 202
2003 - Angela Stanford, 197
2002 - Annika Sorenstam, 201
2001 - Betsy King, 201
2000 - Janice Moodie, 203
1999 - Se Ri Pak, 198
1998 - Annika Sorenstam, 196
1997 - Michelle McGann, 201
1996 - Dottie Pepper, 202
1995 - Betsy King, 204
1994 - Donna Andrews, 207
1993 - Shelley Hamlin, 204
1992 - Anne Marie Palli, 207

Atlantic City Classic
1991 - Jane Geddes, 208
1990 - Chris Johnson, 275 (72 holes)
1989 - Nancy Lopez, 206
1988 - Juli Inkster-p, 206

Atlantic City LPGA Classic
1987 - Betsy King, 207
1986 - Juli Inkster, 209