Table of Intervals

Perfect, Major and Minor Intervals

Man in tuxedo conducting under lights
Tetra Images - Hill Street Studios/ brand X Pictures/ Getty Images

Remember, perfect intervals have only one basic form. The first (also called prime or unison), fourth, fifth and eighth (or octave) are all perfect intervals. On the other hand, non-perfect intervals have two basic forms. The second, third, sixth and seventh are non-perfect intervals; it can either be a major or minor interval. Major intervals comes from the major scale. Minor intervals are exactly a half-step lower than major intervals.

Here's a handy table that will make it easier for you to determine intervals by counting the distance of one note to another note in half steps.

Table of Intervals

Perfect Intervals
Type of IntervalNumber of Half-steps
Unisonnot applicable
Perfect 4th5
Perfect 5th7
Perfect Octave12
Major Intervals
Type of IntervalNumber of Half-steps
Major 2nd2
Major 3rd4
Major 6th9
Major 7th11
Minor Intervals
Type of IntervalNumber of Half-steps
Minor 2nd1
Minor 3rd3
Minor 6th8
Minor 7th10