Ted Hoff - First Microprocessor

Federico Faggin, Ted Hoff, and Stanley Mazor
President Barack Obama (R) presents a National Medal of Technology and Innovation to (L-R) Federico Faggin, Ted Hoff, and Stanley Mazor from Intel Corporation in the East Room of the White House November 17, 2010 in Washington, DC. Olivier Douliery-Pool/Getty Images

What is Important about Ted Hoff?:

In November, 1971, a company called Intel publicly introduced the world's first single chip microprocessor, the Intel 4004 (U.S. Patent #3,821,715), invented by Intel engineers Federico Faggin, Ted Hoff, and Stanley Mazor.

Ted Hoff on the Intel 4004:

Co-inventor Stanley Mazor wrote in his paper The History of the Microcomputer , "Intel’s founder, Robert Noyce, chartered Ted Hoff’s Applications Research Department in 1969 to find new applications for silicon technology...

Ted Hoff thought it would be neat to use MOS LSI technology to produce a computer. Because of the ever growing density of large scale integrated (LSI) circuits a “computer on a chip” was inevitable.”

Ted Hoff Biography:

Ted Hoff was was born October 28, 1937 in Rochester, New York. In 1957, he received his undergraduate degree in electrical engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.In 1959, he received his Master's from Stanford. In 1962, he received his Ph.D. from Stanford. He worked as a researcher at Stanford for four years.

While still an undergraduate, he was granted his first two patents while working during the summer for the General Railway Signal Corp. of Rochester, New York.

As part of his Ph.D. dissertation, ted Hoff co-invented the Least mean squares filter (LMS) with Professor Bernard Widrow. In 1968, Ted Hoff began working at the newly founded Intel. He was their twelfth employee and the first Intel fellow.

In 1982, Ted Hoff left Intel to serve as vice-president of Atari. In 1986, he joined Teklicon, Inc. as Chief Technical Officer.

In 1979, Tedd Hoff was awarded the Stuart Ballantine Medal. In 1996, he was awarded The Franklin Institute's Certificate of Merit. He was inducted into the Inventors Hall of Fame in 1996 and received the National Medal of Technology and Innovation in 2010 from President Obama.