The 39 Clues Book Series

Multiple Authors, Mystery and Adventure

Cover art of Into the Gauntlet, Book 10 in the 39 Clues Book Series
Into the Gauntlet, Book 10 in the 39 Clues Book Series. Scholastic

Series: The 39 Clues Book Series

Authors: Designer of the story arc for the entire series and author of Book One, Rick Riordan; Book Two and Book Eight, Gordon Korman; Book Three and Book Seven, Peter Lerangis; Book Four and Book Six, Jude Watson; Book Five, Patrick Carman; Book Nine, Linda Sue Park; Book Ten, Margaret Peterson Haddix

Publisher: Scholastic

Main Characters: Orphans Dan Cahill and Amy Cahill

Story: There's lots of mystery and adventure as readers follow fourteen-year-old Amy Cahill and her eleven-year-old brother, Dan, as they try to outwit the other members of the Cahill family in the race to find the lost source of the family's power. Dan and Amy know that the first family member to assemble all of the 39 clues left by the last Cahill matriarch will win the race. For more about the series as a whole, as well as the first book in the series, read my review of .

Series Extras: Free 39 Clues Classroom Guide; Official 39 Clues Web site; clue cards in each book, separate clue card packs available for purchase.

Categories: Adventure, mystery, middle grade fiction

Length of Books: Book One - 224 pages; Books Two-Ten - Between 160 and 204 pages, with 5 of the books 176-pages long

Audience: 8-12 year olds

Available formats: All are available in Hardcover and e-book editions, while some are also available in Audio CD, Audible Audio Edition, and/or Preloaded Digital Audio Player.

Books in the Series

  • The Maze of Bones (39 Clues Book Series, Book One)
    Read my review of .
    Author: Rick Riordan, Hardcover: 224 pages (Scholastic, 2008. ISBN: 9780545060394)
  • One False Note (39 Clues Book Series, Book Two)
    Author: Gordon Korman, Hardcover: 176 pages (Scholastic, 2008. ISBN: 9780545060424)
  • The Sword Thief (39 Clues Book Series, Book Three)
    Author: Peter Lerangis, Hardcover: 160 pages (Scholastic, 2009. ISBN: 9780545060431)
  • Beyond the Grave (39 Clues Book Series, Book Four)
    Author: Jude Watson, Hardcover: 192 pages (Scholastic, 2009. ISBN: 9780545060448)
  • The Black Circle (39 Clues Book Series, Book Five)
    Author: Patrick Carman, Hardcover: 176 pages (Scholastic, 2009. ISBN: 9780545060455)
  • In Too Deep (39 Clues Book Series, Book Six)
    Author: Jude Watson, Hardcover: 206 pages (Scholastic, 2009. ISBN: 9780545060462)
  • The Viper's Nest (39 Clues Book Series, Book Seven)
    Author: Peter Lerangis, Hardcover: 190 pages (Scholastic, 2010. ISBN: 9780545060479)
  • The Emperor’s Code (39 Clues Book Series, Book Eight)
    Author: Gordon Korman, Hardcover: 176 pages (Scholastic, 2010. ISBN: 9780545060486)
  • Storm Warning (39 Clues Book Series, Book Nine)
    Author: Linda Sue Park, Hardcover: 176 pages (Scholastic, 2010. ISBN: 9780545060493)
  • Into the Gauntlet (39 Clues Book Series, Book Ten)
    Author: Margaret Peterson Haddix, Hardcover: 176 pages (Scholastic, 2010. ISBN: 9780545060509)

More Recommended Series

The Origami Yoda series by Tom Angleberger, which begins with The Strange Case of Origami Yoda, is a humorous Star Wars-related series, as is the very different Star Wars: Jedi Academy series.

For mystery, adventure and mythology, I recommend Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, which begins with The Lightning Thief, and The Heroes of Olympus series.

For middle grade readers who enjoy nonfiction and science, I recommend the books in the Scientists in the Field series, each of which provides, in words and photographs, a look at a scientist at work. Title include: , Digging for Bird Dinosaurs, and