The Presidents Cup

The Presidents Cup Trophy with the Sydney Harbour Bridge as the backdrop
The Presidents Cup Trophy had the Sydney Harbour Bridge as a backdrop when the tournament was played in Australia. Matt King/Getty Images for The Presidents Cup

The Presidents Cup is played every two years and pits the U.S. team against the International team. The International team is comprised of golfers from outside the U.S. and Europe. The Presidents Cup is run by the PGA Tour.

2019 Presidents Cup

  • When: Dec. 12-15, 2019
  • Where: Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Black Rock, Victoria, Australia
  • Captains: Team USA — Tiger Woods; Team International — Ernie Els

Format/Schedule of Play
The Presidents Cup format involves four days of play, using foursomes, fourball and singles match play, with 30 matches total taking place:

  • Day 1: Five foursomes or five fourball matches. The home team captain decides which format is in use.
  • Day 2: Five matches of either foursomes or fourball, whichever format was not played on Day 1.
  • Day 3: Four four-ball matches and four foursomes matches, one format played in a morning session and the other in the afternoon session.
  • Day 4: Twelve singles matches wrap up the Presidents Cup schedule.

Each match is worth 1 point to the winning side. If a fourball or foursomes match is all square after 18 holes, the match is halved and a half-point is given to each side the teams are considered co-champions and share the Cup.

Match Play Primer
Need a refresher course - or an introduction - in the specifics of match play? Our Match Play Primer includes info on match play scoring, terminology, rules and strategy.

Official Website

2017 Presidents Cup

Team Rosters

  • USA: Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Rickie Fowler, Daniel Berger, Brooks Koepka, Kevin Kisner, Patrick Reed, Matt Kuchar, Kevin Chappell. Captain's picks: Charley Hoffman, Phil Mickelson
  • International: Hideki Matsuyama, Jason Day, Adam Scott, Louis Oosthuizen, Charl Schwartzel, Marc Leishman, Branden Grace, Jhonattan Vegas, Si Woo Kim, Adam Hadwin. Captain's picks: Emiliano Grillo, Anirban Lahiri

Presidents Cup Past Results

2015 Presidents Cup

  • Final Score: USA 15.5, International 14.5
  • When: Oct. 8-11, 2015
  • Where: Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea, Songdo IBD, Incheon City, South Korea
  • Captains: USA - Jay Haas; Internationals - Nick Price

And all previous scores:

  • 2013: USA 18.5, International 15.5
  • 2011: USA 19, International 15
  • 2009: USA 19.5, International 14.5
  • 2007: U.S. 19.5, International 14.5
  • 2005: U.S. 18.5, International 15.5
  • 2003: U.S. 17, International 17, tie
  • 1998: International 20.5, U.S. 11.5
  • 1996: USA 16.5, International 15.5
  • 1994: U.S. 20, International 12

Team USA leads the overall standings with nine wins to Team International's one. There has been one tie.

Presidents Cup FAQs

How Do Golfers Qualify for a Presidents Cup Team?
Both teams in the Presidents Cup are automatically filled by 10 golfers from the teams' respective point lists, with another two players per side chosen by the respective team captains. Team USA's automatic qualifiers are based on FedEx Cup points; the International side's automatic qualifiers are chosen based on world ranking points.

What Happens If the Presidents Cup Ends in a Tie?
If the International and USA teams finish a Presidents Cup tied, with the same amount of points, then the two teams share the Presidents Cup until the next competition. Unlike at the Ryder Cup, the team that held the cup entering does not retain it. The team share ownership of the cup until the next tournament.

List of Presidents Cup Team Captains
For each year, the International captain is listed first, followed by the USA captain.

  • 2019 - Ernie Els - Tiger Woods
  • 2017 - Nick Price - Steve Stricker
  • 2015 - Nick Price - Jay Haas
  • 2013 - Nick Price - Fred Couples
  • 2011 - Greg Norman - Fred Couples
  • 2009 - Greg Norman - Fred Couples
  • 2007 - Gary Player - Jack Nicklaus
  • 2005 - Gary Player - Jack Nicklaus
  • 2003 - Gary Player - Jack Nicklaus
  • 2000 - Peter Thomson - Ken Venturi
  • 1998 - Peter Thomson - Jack Nicklaus
  • 1996 - Peter Thomson - Arnold Palmer
  • 1994 - David Graham - Hale Irwin

Future Sites of the Presidents Cup

  • 2019: Royal Melbourne Golf Club, Australia
  • 2021: Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, North Carolina
  • 2023: TBA
  • 2025: Harding Park, San Francisco, Calif.