3 Rules of Architecture

How to Win a Pritzker Architecture Prize

Elegant temporary church design by Shigeru Ban, made from inexpensive materials, will last years.
Called the Cardboard Cathedral, this temporary church designed by Shigeru Ban will last 50 years while Christchurch Cathedral, destroyed by the 2011 New Zealand earthquake, is rebuilt. Illust. by Christchurch Cathedral via Getty Images/photo handout/Getty Images News/Getty Images

On the back of the Pritzker medallion (What is a Pritzker?) are three words: Firmness, Commodity, and Delight. These rules of architecture define the prestigious Pritzker award. According to the Hyatt Foundation which administers the Prize, these three rules recall the principles set down by Roman architect Vitruvius: firmitas, utilitas, venustas.

Vitruvius' famous multi-volume De Architectura, written around 10 BC, explores the role of geometry in architecture and outlines the need to build all kinds of structures for all classes of people.

Vitruvius' rules are sometimes translated this way:

" All these must be built with due reference to durability, convenience, and beauty. Durability will be assured when foundations are carried down to the solid ground and materials wisely and liberally selected; convenience, when the arrangement of the apartments is faultless and presents no hindrance to use, and when each class of building is assigned to its suitable and appropriate exposure; and beauty, when the appearance of the work is pleasing and in good taste, and when its members are in due proportion according to correct principles of symmetry."—Book I, Chapter III, Paragraph 2

What does it mean?
The ancient Roman architect Marcus Vitruvius Pollio described the need for architecture to be well-built, useful by serving a purpose, and beautiful to look at. These are the same three principles that Pritzker juries apply to today's architects.

Firmness, Commodity, and Delight:

Shigeru Ban? Who would've guessed that in 2014 the most prestigious award in architecture, the Pritzker Prize, would go to an architect who was not a celebrity. The same thing happened in 2016 when Chilean architect Alejandro Aravena received the architecture prize. Could the Pritzker jury be telling us something about the three rules of architecture?

Like the 2013 Pritzker Laureate, Toyo Ito, Ban has been an architect of healing, designing sustainable housing for Japan's earthquake and tsunami victims. Ban also has circled the globe providing relief after natural disasters in Rwanda, Turkey, India, China, Italy, Haiti, and New Zealand. Aravena does the same in South America.

The 2014 Pritzker Jury said of Ban that "His sense of responsibility and positive action to create architecture of quality to serve society's needs, combined with his original approach to these humanitarian challenges, make this year's winner an exemplary professional."

Before Ban, Aravena, and Ito came the first Chinese recipient, Wang Shu, in 2012. At a time when China's cities were choking in over-urbanization, Shu continued to defy his country's quick-build attitude of over-industrialization. Instead, Shu insisted that his country's future could become modernized while tethered to its traditions. "Using recycled materials," said the 2012 Pritzker Citation, "he is able to send several messages on the careful use of resources and respect for tradition and context as well as give a frank appraisal of technology and the quality of construction today, particularly in China."

By awarding architecture's highest honor to these three men, what is the Pritzker jury trying to tell the world?

How to Win a Pritzker Prize:

In choosing Ban, Ito, Aravena, and Shu, the Pritzker juries seem to be reasserting old values for a new generation. The Tokyo-born Ban was only 56 years old when he won. Wang Shu and Alejandro Aravena were only 48. Certainly not household names, these architects have undertaken a variety of projects both commercial and non-commercial. Shu has been a scholar and teacher of historic preservation and renovation. Ban's humanitarian projects include his ingenious use of common, recyclable materials, like cardboard paper tubes for columns, to quickly construct dignified shelters for victims of disasters. After the 2008 Wenchuan Earthquake, Ban helped bring order to a devastated community by building the Hualin Elementary School from cardboard tubes.

On a larger scale, the 2012 design for a "cardboard cathedral" gave a New Zealand community a beautiful temporary structure while it rebuilds its cathedral, decimated by the 2011 Christchurch earthquake.

Being named a Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate establishes these men in history as some of the most influential architects of modern times. Like many middle-aged architects, their careers are just beginning. Architecture is not a "get rich quick" pursuit, and for many the riches never materialize. The Pritzker Architecture Prize seems to be recognizing the architect who isn't seeking celebrity, but who follows ancient tradition—the architect's duty, as defined by Vitruvius—"to create architecture of quality to serve society's needs." That's how to win a Pritzker Prize in the 21st century.

Learn More:

Sources: Jury Citation, Shigeru Ban, 2014, The Hyatt Foundation at pritzkerprize.com; Jury Citation, Wang Shu, 2012, The Hyatt Foundation at pritzkerprize.com; Ceremony and Medal, The Hyatt Foundation at pritzkerprize.com; The Ten Books on Architecture by Marcus Vitruvius Pollio, translated by Morris Hicky Morgan, Harvard University Press, 1914 [accessed August 2, 2014]

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Craven, Jackie. "3 Rules of Architecture." ThoughtCo, Jan. 23, 2017, thoughtco.com/the-rules-of-architecture-177224. Craven, Jackie. (2017, January 23). 3 Rules of Architecture. Retrieved from https://www.thoughtco.com/the-rules-of-architecture-177224 Craven, Jackie. "3 Rules of Architecture." ThoughtCo. https://www.thoughtco.com/the-rules-of-architecture-177224 (accessed January 24, 2018).