U.S. Amateur Championship

History, fun facts and trivia about the USGA amateur tournament

Tiger Woods in 1994
Tiger Woods (pictured in 1994) is the only golfer to win the US Amateur Championship three years in succession. Rogers Photo Archive/Getty Images

The U.S. Amateur Championship, conducted by the USGA, is open to amateur golfers who have a USGA Handicap Index of 2.4 or lower. A series of stroke-play qualifiers is played around the country. A handful of U.S. Ams have been played fully at stroke play, but nearly all have culminated in match play. The U.S. Amateur Championship was first played in 1895.

A field of 312 golfers is cut to the top 64 following two days of stroke play.

Those 64 move on to single-elimination match play culminating in a 36-hole championship match.

2018 US Amateur

  • When: Aug. 13-19, 2018
  • Where: Pebble Beach Golf Links in California

2017 US Amateur
Doc Redman won the final three holes to claim the championship on the 37th hole. Redman and Doug Ghim were all square after 30 holes. But when Ghim won the 31st, he went 1-up; and he went dormie when he won the 34th. Redman's rally then began: He won the 35th hole, then squared the match by winning the 36th. That forced extra holes, and Redman claimed the trophy with a birdie on the 37th.

2016 US Amateur
The 2016 U.S. Am came down to talent and Luck. Curtis Luck, that is, who defeated Brad Dalke in the championship match, 6 and 4. Luck, of Australia, turned a match that was all square following morning 18 into an easy victory winning eight consecutive holes (20-27) in the afternoon 18. Luck, age 20, has already won a pro tour (Australasian) and is the third Australian winner of the U.S. Amateur (joining Walter Travis and Nick Flanagan).

Official Web site

U.S. Amateur Championship Records

Most Wins

  • 5 - Bobby Jones (1924, 1925, 1927, 1928, 1930)
  • 4 - Jerome Travers (1907, 1908, 1912, 1913)

Most Consecutive Wins

  • 3 - Tiger Woods (1994-96)
  • 2 - H.J. Whigham (1986-7); Walter Travis (1900-01); H. Chandler Egan (1904-5); Jerome Travers (1907-8, 1912-13); Bobby Jones (1924-5, 1927-8); Lawson Little (1934-5); E. Harvie Ward (1955-6); Jay Sigel (1982-3)

    Youngest Champion

    • Danny Lee, 2008 (18 years, 1 month)

    Oldest Champion

    • Jack Westland, 1952 (47 years, 3 months, 9 days)

    Largest Winning Margin in Final

    • 12 and 11 - Charles B. Macdonald def. Charles Sands, 1895

    U.S. Amateur Championship Golf Courses

    The U.S. Amateur rotates to different courses each year. Here are the coming sites and most recent sites:

    Future Sites

    • 2018 - Pebble Beach Golf Links, Pebble Beach, Calif.
    • 2019 - Pinehurst (No. 2 Course) Resort, Village of Pinehurst, N.C.
    • 2020 - Bandon Dunes Golf Resort, Bandon, Ore.

    Recent Sites

    • 2017 - Riviera Country Club, Pacific Palisades, Calif.
    • 2016 - Oakland Hills Country Club, Bloomfield, Township, Mich.
    • 2015 - Olympia Fields Country Club, Chicago, Ill.
    • 2014 - Atlanta Athletic Club, Atlanta, Ga.
    • 2013 - The Country Club, Brookline, Mass.
    • 2012 - Cherry Hills Country Club, Cherry Hills Village, Colo.

    U.S. Amateur Championships Trivia and Notes

    • The USGA was founded in 1894, and in 1895 the U.S. Amateur Championship debuted.
    • Charles B. Macdonald won the first U.S. Am. Yes, he's the Charles B. Macdonald - the renowned golf course architect who designed such courses as Chicago Golf Club, National Golf Links of America and the Yale University course.
    • The first U.S. Amateur and first U.S. Open were played simultaneously, but the Open started one day later than the Amateur. That makes the Amateur the oldest golf tournament in America.
    • The U.S. Amateur has usually included stroke-play qualifying rounds, and has almost always concluded with match play. However, from 1965-72, the Amateur was played entirely at stroke play.
    • The trophy of the U.S. Am is known as the Havemeyer Cup, and the winner receives possession of it for one year.
    • Bobby Jones is the only 5-time winner of this event. He reached the final 7 times (the record), losing in 1919 and 1926.
    • Tiger Woods is the only golfer to win this tournament three times in a row. Woods also holds records as the youngest champion, and for most consecutive matches won (18, over three championships).
    • Chick Evans (1916) and Bobby Jones (1930) are the only golfers to win the U.S. Amateur and U.S. Open in the same years. Nine other golfers won both tournaments during the course of their careers. But two of those - Francis Ouimet and Johnny Goodman - won the Open before they won the Amateur.
    • Two-time winner and five-time finalist Chick Evans played in the U.S. Amateur a record 50 times. William C. Campbell, a onetime USGA president, played every year from 1941-77 (excluding 1942-45, when the championship wasn't played), a record 33 straight years.

    Recent Winners of the U.S. Amateur Championship

    2017 - Doc Redman def. Doug Ghim, 1-up (37 holes)
    2016 - Curtis Luck def. Brad Dalke, 6 and 4
    2015 - Bryson DeChambeau def. Derek Bard, 7 and 6
    2014 - Gunn Yang def. Corey Conners, 2 and 1
    2013 - Matt Fitzpatrick def. Oliver Goss, 4 and 3
    2012 - Steven Fox def. Michael Weaver, 1-up (37 holes)
    2011 - Kelly Kraft def. Patrick Cantlay, 2-up
    2010 - Peter Uihlein def. David Chung, 4 and 2
    Full List of U.S. Amateur Champions