U.S. Women's Amateur Championship

Lydia Ko in 2012
Lydia Ko won the US Women's Amateur Championship in 2012. Andy Lyons/Getty Images

The U.S. Women's Amateur Championship, conducted by the USGA, is open to female amateurs with USGA Handicaps not exceeding 5.4. Qualifiers are played around the country. The Women's Am was first played in 1895; the first tournament was stroke play; all ensuing tournaments culminate in match play. The winner receives possession of the Robert Cox Cup for one year, and a gold medal.

A field of 156 golfers is cut to the top 64 following two days of stroke play.

Those 64 move on to single-elimination match play culminating in a 36-hole championship match.

2017 Tournament

  • When: Aug. 7-13
  • Where: San Diego Country Club in Chula Vista, Calif.

2016 US Women's Amateur
Either finalist - Eun Jeong Seong of South Korea or Virginia Elena Carta of Italy - would have achieved a historic double with the victory. In the end, it was the 16-year-old Seong who beat the 19-year-old Carta, 1-up, in the 36-hole final match. In so doing, Seong became the first golfer ever to win the U.S. Girls Amateur and the U.S. Women's Amateur in the same year. (Carta would have been the second-ever to win the Women's Am and the NCAA Women's Championship in the same year.)

2015 Tournament

Hannah O'Sullivan - already a winner of a professional tournament - added the U.S. Women's Amateur to her list of victories. O'Sullivan, age 17, defeated 17-year-old Sierra Brooks in the championship match by a 3-and-2 score.

Brooks had a 3-up lead after the first 15 holes, but O'Sullivan got that deficit to 1-down by the end of the morning 18. By the 26th hole O'Sullivan led 2-up, but Brooks squared it again on the 29th. O'Sullivan won the 30th, 32nd and 33rd holes, however, and closed it out on the 34th. Earlier in the year, O'Sullivan became the youngest-ever winner of a Symetra Tour tournament, the Gateway Classic, which she got into as a sponsor exemption.

Official Web site

U.S. Women's Amateur Championship Records

Most Wins

Most consecutive wins

  • 3 - Beatrix Hoyt, 1896-98
  • 3 - Alexa Stirling Fraser, 1916-20 (not played 1917-18)
  • 3 - Glenna Collett Vare, 1928-30
  • 3 - Virginia Van Wie, 1932-34
  • 3 - Juli Inkster, 1980-82

Youngest Champion

  • Kimberly Kim, 2006 (14 years, 11 months, 21 days)

Oldest Champion

  • Dorothy Campbell Hurd, 1924 (41 years, 4 months)

Largest Winning Margin in Final

  • 14 and 13 - Anne Quast Sander def. Phyllis Preuss, 1961

U.S. Women's Amateur Championship Golf Courses

The U.S. Women's Amateur rotates to different courses each year. Here are the coming sites and most recent sites:

Future Sites

  • 2017 - San Diego Country Club, Chula Vista, Calif.
  • 2018 - The Golf Club of Tennessee, Kingston, Tenn.

Recent Sites

  • 2015 - Portland Golf Club, Raleigh Hills, Oregon
  • 2014 - Nassau Country Club, Glen Cove, N.Y.
  • 2013 - Country Club of Charleston, Charleston (S.C.)
  • 2012 - The Country Club, Cleveland, Ohio

U.S. Women's Amateur Championships Trivia and Notes

  • The first U.S. Women's Amateur Championship was also the first significant women's golf tournament of any kind in the U.S. Lucy Barnes defeated a field of 12 others for the first title, the only one fully contested at stroke play.
  • Beatrix Hoyt, who won the 1896-98 championships, was the granddaughter of a Supreme Court chief justice, Salmon P. Chase. Chase also served as a U.S. senator and governor of Ohio.
  • JoAnne Carner won five U.S. Women's Am titles, plus one U.S. Girls Junior and two U.S. Women's Opens, for a total of eight USGA championships. Only Bobby Jones (nine) and Tiger Woods (nine) have USGA more.
  • Jenny Chuasiriporn had one of the great "almost" years in 1998. She almost won the U.S. Women's Amateur, losing to Grace Park in the final (albeit by a sizable margin, 7 and 6); and she almost won the U.S. Women's Open as an amateur, losing a 19-hole playoff to Se Ri Pak.
  • The first foreign-born winner was Dorothy Campbell Hurd, a native of Scotland, in 1909.
  • Glenna Collett Vare won six times, and lost two times in the final, for a record total of eight times in the championship match.
  • In 1907, the Curtis sisters (namesakes of the Curtis Cup) met in the championship match. Margaret Curtis defeated Harriott Curtis, 7 and 6.
  • The only meeting of a mother and daughter in match play during the U.S. Women's Amateur happened in 1962, when Jean Trainor defeated her daughter Anne Trainor in a second-round pairing.

Recent Winners of the U.S. Women's Amateur Championship

2016 - Eun Jeong Seong def. Virginia Elena Carta, 1-up
2015 - Hannah O'Sullivan def. Sierra Brooks, 3 and 2
2014 - Kristen Gillman def. Brooke Mackenzie Henderson, 2-up
2013 - Emma Talley def. Cindy Feng, 2 and 1
2012 - Lydia Ko def. Jaye Marie Green, 3 and 1
2011 - Danielle Kang def. Moriya Jutanugarn, 6 and 5
2010 - Danielle Kang def. Jessica Korda, 2 and 1
2009 - Jennifer Song def. Jennifer Johnson, 3 and 1
Full List of U.S. Women's Amateur Champions