U.S. Women's Open Golf Tournament

Brittany Lang holds the US Women's Open trophy after winning in 2016
2016 US Women's Open champion Brittany Lang with the trophy. Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

The U.S. Women's Open, conducted by the United States Golf Association, has been held every year since 1946. The first tournament was played at match play, but in every other year the format has been stroke play.

2018 US Women's Open

  • When: May 31-June 3, 2018
  • Where: Shoal Creek Country Club, Shoal Creek, Alabama

Golfers In the Field for 2018 US Women's Open

Marina Alex
Brittany Altomare
a-Evelyn Arguelles
a-Celia Barquin Arozamena
a-Kaylee Benton
Ashleigh Buhai
a-Olivia Cason
Tiffany Chan
Ssu Chia Cheng
Peiyun Chien
Chella Choi
Hye-Jin Choi
Na Yeon Choi
a-Robyn Choi
a-Kelsey Chugg
In Gee Chun
Carlota Ciganda
Cydney Clanton
Jacqui Concolino
a-Allisen Corpuz
Paula Creamer
Katelyn Dambaugh
Casey Danielson
a-Celeste Dao
Daniela Darquea
Martina Edberg
Austin Ernst
Jodi Ewart Shadoff
a-Maria Fassi
Shanshan Feng
Sandra Gal
a-Kristen Gillman
Laura Gonzalez-Escallon
Julieta Granada
a-Linn Grant
Georgia Hall
Kim Hani
Nasa Hataoka
a-Sophie Hausmann
Brooke Henderson
Celine Herbin
Maria Hernandez
Minami Hiruta
a-Jillian Hollis
Daniela Holmqvist
Wei-Ling Hsu
Charley Hull
Mi Jung Hur
Karine Icher
Eun-Hee Ji
Ariya Jutanugarn
Moriya Jutanugarn
Danielle Kang
Kim Kaufman
Fumika Kawagishi
Sarah Kemp
Cristie Kerr
Megan Khang
a-Dylan Kim
a-Gina Kim
Hyo Joo Kim
In-Kyung Kim
Ji-Hyun Kim
Sei Young Kim
Katherine Kirk
Jin-Young Ko
Lydia Ko
Jessica Korda
Nelly Korda
Olafia Kristindottir
Candie Kung
Kotono Kozuma
Brittany Lang
Saranporn Langkulgasettrin
Nicole Broch Larsen
Jeongeun Lee
Mi Hyang Lee
Minjee Lee
Min Young Lee
Mirim Lee
Solar Lee
Stacy Lewis
a-Lucy Li
Xiyu Lin
Brittany Lincicome
Pernilla Lindberg
Yiyi Liu
Gaby Lopez
Teresa Lu
Mo Martin
Caroline Masson
Catriona Matthew
Ally McDonald
Giulia Molinaro
Becky Morgan
Azahara Munoz
Grace Na
Haru Nomura
Anna Nordqvist
Su Oh
Ryann O’Toole
Hyunkyung Park
Inbee Park
Jane Park
Sung Hyun Park
Emily Kristine Pedersen
Pornanong Phatlum
Mel Reid
Paul Reto
So Yeon Ryu
Madelene Sagstrom
Lizette Salas
Supamas Sangchan
Sarah Schober
a-Sophia Schubert
a-Erica Shepherd
Alena Sharp
Jenny Shin
Sarah Jane Smith
a-Yujeong Son
Christine Song
Jennifer Song
Klara Splikova
Angela Stanford
Jenny Suh
Ai Suzuki
Kaori Takayama
Emma Talley
Kris Tamulis
a-Patty Tavatanakit
Lexi Thompson
Ayako Uehara
a-Albane Valenzuela
Anne Van Dam
a-Elizabeth Wang
Karrie Webb
Michelle Wie
a-Dana Williams
Cheyenne Woods
Jing Yan
Amy Yang
a-Lei Ye
Angel Yin
Sun Young Yoo

2018 Qualifying Dates/Sites/Results

These are the dates and locations of the qualifiers (if the location is linked, click that link to view the scores):

Recent US Women's Opens

2017 US Women's Open
Sung Hyun Park shot 67-67 on the weekend to win her first major championship. It was also the first LPGA Tour win for the LPGA rookie, although she had 10 wins previously on the Korean LPGA. Amateur Hye-Jin Choi finished two strokes behind in second place.

2016 U.S. Women's Open
Brittany Lang won a 3-hole, aggregate-score playoff with the help of a 2-stroke penalty on her opponent. Lang and Anna Nordqvist finished 72 holes tied at 6-under 282, so entered the playoff. Both parred the first hole. But on the second extra hole, Nordqvist's club brushed the sand in a bunker after she grounded it, resulting in a 2-stroke penalty. Lang won the playoff by three strokes, and with it the trophy. It was a disappointing finish for Nordqvist, who started the final round six strokes behind but then shot 67 to post the clubhouse lead. Lang was at 7-under with two holes remaining in regulation, but bogeyed the 17th to fall into the playoff. Third-round leader Lydia Ko surprised everyone by struggling through the middle of her round with a bogey on the eighth hole and a double-bogey on No. 9. Ko finished tied for third.

US Women's Open Official Web site

US Women's Open Records

  • Low round: 63 — Helen Alfredsson, first round, 1994
  • Low total: 272 - Annika Sorenstam, 1996; Juli Inkster, 1999

More U.S. Women's Open Records

US Women's Open Golf Courses

Recent Sites

  • 2017 - Trump National, Bedminster, N.J.
  • 2016 - CordeValle Golf Club, San Martin, Calif.
  • 2015 - Lancaster Country Club, Lancaster, Pa.
  • 2014 - Pinehurst Resort's No. 2 Course in Pinehurst, North Carolina
  • 2013 - Sebonack Golf Club, Southampton, N.Y.
  • 2012 - Blackwolf Run, Kohler, Wisc.
  • 2011 - The Broadmoor, Colorado Springs, Colo.

Future Sites

  • 2018 - Shoal Creek Country Club, Shoal Creek, Alabama
  • 2019 - Country Club of Charleston, Charleston, S.C.
  • 2020 - Champions Golf Club, Houston, Texas
  • 2021 - Olympic Club, San Francisco, Calif.

US Women's Open Trivia and Notes

  • The U.S. Women's Open is the only USGA championship that was started by another organization. The Women's Professional Golf Association, a precursor to the LPGA, founded the Women's Open in 1946. The USGA took over the tournament in 1953.
  • The purse for the first Women's Open totaled $19,700. According to the USGA, that sum was raised by the Spokane (Wash.) Athletic Round Table through that organization's slot machine proceeds.
  • Patty Berg defeated Betty Jameson, 5-and-4, in the 36-hole championship match of the first U.S. Women's Open in 1946, which is also the only time match play has been the format.
  • Betsy Rawls was the first four-time winner of the U.S. Women's Open, and Mickey Wright the only other four-time winner.
  • The U.S. Women's Open was first televised in 1965, when only the final round was shown.
  • Nancy Lopez finished second as an amateur in 1975, but never won this tournament.
  • Fourteen golfers have won the U.S. Women's Open to record their first recognized LPGA Tour victory. Those include Donna Caponi (1969), Laura Davies (1987) and Annika Sorenstam (1995).
  • In 2007, Alexis Thompson became the youngest golfer to make it through qualifying and into the U.S. Women's Open, at 12 years, 4 months. But the youngest player in the field was Beverly Klass, who was just 10 1/2 years old when she played in 1967 (there was no qualifying at that time).
  • Inbee Park won her second overall U.S. Women's Open in 2013, but it was her third consecutive major championship win of the year. Park became only the second player in the history of women's pro golf to win the first three majors of the season.

Winners of the US Women's Open

2017 - Sung Hyun Park
2016 - Brittany Lang
2015 - In Gee Chun
2014 - Michelle Wie
2013 - Inbee Park
Full List of U.S. Women's Open Winners