WGC Mexico Championship Golf Tournament on the PGA Tour

Dustin Johnson putts during his victory at the 2015 WGC Cadillac Championship
Dustin Johnson putts during his victory at the 2015 WGC Cadillac Championship (this event's former name). Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

The WGC Mexico Championship debuted as part of the World Golf Championships series in 1999, but was first played in Mexico (and under its current name) in 2017.

The tournament originally rotated from course to course each year, but beginning in 2007 became permanently housed at the Doral Country Club in Doral, Fla., and replaced that site's previous event, the Doral Open, on the PGA Tour schedule.

The event became known as the Cadillac Championship beginning in 2011 when the auto brand replaced CA as title sponsor.

Then, after the 2016 tournament, the tour announced this even was moving to Mexico and it was rebranded the WGC Mexico Championship.

The WGC Mexico Championship is a limited-field event with entry determined mostly by world rankings, various tours' money list rankings or orders of merit (such as the FedEx Cup points list). A total of 70 golfers are eligible to play, and because of that limited field there is no cut.

2018 Tournament

  • When: March 1-4
  • Where: Club de Golf Chapultepec in Mexico City, Mexico

2017 WGC Mexico Championship
Dustin Johnson won this tournament for the second time, beating runner-up Tommy Fleetwood by one stroke. Johnson previously won in 2015. In the final round of 2017, Johnson shot 68 to finish at 14-under 270. It was Johnson's 14th career PGA Tour victory and his second of 2017.

2016 Tournament
Adam Scott made it wins in back-to-back weeks on the PGA Tour, earning a tough par on the final hole to second a 1-stroke victory.

Scott shot 69 in the final round to finish at 12-under 276, beating runner-up Bubba Watson by one shot. Third-round leader Rory McIlroy shot 74 and finished tied for third. Scott won a week earlier at the Honda Classic.

Official Web site

Scoring Records at the WGC Mexico Championship

  • 18 holes: 62 - J.B. Holmes, 2015; Bubba Watson, 2012; Sergio Garcia, Retief Goosen, 2002

WGC Mexico Championship Golf Courses

The WGC Mexico Championship is now played at Club de Golf Chapultepec in Mexico City, a par-72 course that measures 7,267 yards. The club opened at one time was the permanent site of the Mexico Open, a tournament that today is part of the PGA Tour Latinoamerica circuit.

From 2007 through 2016, this event was played at Trump National Doral (formerly the Doral Resort & Spa's Doral Country Club), on the Blue Course, in Doral, Fla. Prior to that, the tourney rotated to courses around the world:

  • Valderrama Golf Club, Valderrama, Spain (1999-2000)
  • Mount Juliet Conrad Estate, Thomastown, Co. Kilkenny, Ireland (2002, 2004)
  • Capital City Club, Crabapple Course, Atlanta, Ga. (2003)
  • Harding Park Golf Course, San Francisco, Calif. (2005)
  • The Grove, Hertfordshire, England (2006)

WGC Mexico Championship Tournament Trivia and Notes

  • When Tiger Woods won this event for the sixth time in 2007, it was only the eighth time the tournament had been played. At that point, Wood had won the tournament 75-percent of its young history.
  • Woods didn't win again until 2013, making that his seventh victory in this tournament.
  • In 2010, Ernie Els won the CA Championship for the second time, joining Woods as a multiple champion. In 2017, Dustin Johnson joined that list with his second win.
  • The tournament was canceled in 2001 in the aftermath of the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks in the United States.

Winners of the WGC Mexico Championship


WGC Mexico Championship
2017 - Dustin Johnson, 270

WGC Cadillac Championship
2016 - Adam Scott, 276
2015 - Dustin Johnson, 279
2014 - Patrick Reed, 284
2013 - Tiger Woods, 269
2012 - Justin Rose, 272
2011 - Nick Watney, 272

WGC CA Championship
2010 - Ernie Els, 270
2009 - Phil Mickelson, 269
2008 - Geoff Ogilvy, 271
2007 - Tiger Woods, 270

WGC American Express Championship
2006 - Tiger Woods, 261
2005 - Tiger Woods-p, 270
2004 - Ernie Els, 270
2003 - Tiger Woods, 274
2002 - Tiger Woods, 263
2001 - No Tournament
2000 - Mike Weir, 277
1999 - Tiger Woods-p, 278