View Jeep Model Codes by Year

Do You Know a Jeep JK from a YJ?

2004 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
2004 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. Lynnette Walczak

If you are new to Jeep lingo, or just a Jeep enthusiast, you may be curious about the different codes used by Jeep manufacturers. What's a JK and how does it differ from a YJ? In short, Jeep has come up with different codes to differentiate their models. And it's not just the iconic Jeep Wrangler that has a code -- every one of these vehicles ever made is distinguished with a code to designate its Jeep model by year.

Jeep Models and Codes by Year

Browse Jeep models by year according to their respective codes:

CJ Models:

CJ-2A: Made from 1945 to 1949, this was the first civilian Jeep that Willys made, which was known as the "universal Jeep."

CJ-3A: The CJ-2A received an upgrade with the CJ-3A, which was made from 1949 to 1953. It had a one-piece windshield and was based on the first post-war military Jeep known as the M38.

CJ-3B: Produced from 1953 to 1968, this was known as the "high-hood Jeep."

CJ-5: This Jeep featured a rounded hood to accommodate the hurricane engine and was made from 1955 to 1983.

CJ-5A: Made from 1964 to 1967, this featured a Tuxedo Park option package that included a Dauntless V6 engine and bucket seats.

CJ-6: Made from 1955 to 1975, this was a CJ-5 with a longer wheelbase.

CJ-6A "Tuxedo Park": This is the rarest CJ made, as only 459 vehicles were manufactured from 1964 to 1967.

CJ-7: This was the first model that wasn't referred to as a "universal Jeep," and it was made between 1976 and 1986.

CJ-8 "Scrambler": This was basically a bigger CJ produced from 1981 to 1985.

CJ-10: Made from 1981 to 1985, this Jeep was a pick-up truck with a CJ body.

C10: These vehicles include the Jeepster Commando made from 1966 to 1971, which came in both convertible and pick-up varieties. The C104 Commando was made between 1972 and 1973, and had an AMC engine. 

CJ-10A: This was a flightline aircraft tug made from 1984 to 1986 that was based on the CJ-10.

DJ Models:

DJ-3A: This was the first dispatcher Jeep made from 1955 to 1964 -- a version of the CJ-3A with two-wheel drive.

DJ-5: Known as the "Dispatcher 100," this Jeep was produced from 1965 to 1967 and was a CJ-5 with two-wheel drive.

DJ-5A: This had a hardtop body and steering on the right hand of the vehicle, which was produced from 1968 to 1970.

DJ-5B: A Jeep produced from 1970 to 1972 that had a  232 in³ AMC six-cylinder engine.

DJ-5C: This Jeep was made from 1973 to 1974 and was similar to the DJ-5B.

DJ-5D: Similar to the DJ-5B, this Jeep was made from 1975 to 1976.

DJ-5E: Made in 1976, the "Electruck" was an electric version of the Dispatcher that included a battery.

DJ-5F: This Jeep, made from 1977 to 1978, was available with an AMC 258 engine.

DJ-5G: Similar to the DJ-5B, it had a 2.0-liter  four-cylinder engine made in 1979 by Volkswagen/Audi.

DJ-5L: Made in 1982, this Jeep had a Pontiac 2.5-liter "Iron Duke" engine.

FC Models:

FC-150: These forward control trucks made from 1956 to 1965 were CJ-5 models with a pick-up bed. 

FC-170: Made between 1957 and 1965, these included the Willys Super Hurricane engine.

Willys Wagon:

Willys Wagon and Willys Pickup: These were full-sized trucks that had a pick-up body style. They included the Willys Wagon made between 1946 and 1965, and the Willys Pickup made between 1947 and 1965.

Other models:

FJ: These fleetvan Jeeps were manufactured between 1961 and 1965) that were similar to the DJ-3A but included a van body. The FJ-3 had horizontal grill slots) and was used as a postal truck; the FJ-3A was longer for other purposes.  

SJ: These included the Wagoneer, which was made from 1963 to 1983, as well as the J-series made from 1963 to 1988. Also included are the  Super Wagoneer, which was known as the original luxury SUV, was made from 1966 to 1969. The Cherokee was made from 1974 to 1983, the Grand Wagoneer was made from 1984 to 1991 and the Jeepster Commando was produced from 1966 to 1971. 

VJ: Also known as Willys Jeepster, this roadster was made from 1948 to 1950. 

XJ: These vehicles include the Jeep Cherokee made from 1984 to 2001 -- the most popular Jeep of all time. This Jeep model year code also applies to the Wagoneer Limited produced from 1984 to 1990, which had more luxuries. 

MJ: Made from  1986 to 1992, this was a pick-up version of the Cherokee and had a single body.

YJ: The Wranglers made from 1987 to 1995 had larger U-joints and a more efficient engine.

ZJ: These include the Grand Cherokee made from 1993 to 1998 and the Grand Wagoneer made in 1993.

TJ: These Jeep Wranglers were produced from 1997 to 2006, and replaced the YJ. They included the Wrangler Unlimited, or four-door Wrangler.

WJ: This Jeep code refers to the Grand Cherokee made from 1999 to 2004. 

KJ: The Jeep Liberty generated from 2002 to 2007 was part of this class. 

WK: The Grand Cherokee made from 2005 to 2010 had more of a car-like drive.

XK: From 2006 to 2010, Jeep made the Commander -- a seven-passenger Jeep. 

JK: JK models refer to Jeep Wranglers made from 2007 to the present (as of 2017). It includes a three-piece hardtop roof.

JKU: The four-door Wrangler that was made from 2007 to the present.

MK: Also known as the Compass or Patriot, these models were made from 2007 to the present and were fuel-efficient crossovers.

KK: The KK refers to the Jeep Liberty that was produced from 2008 to 2012, replacing the KJ with some models operating on E-85 fuel.

WK2: From 2011 to the present, the WK2 refers to the Grand Cherokee with a 3.6-liter V6 engine that replaced the  WK.

KL: This Jeep refers to the Jeep Cherokee made from 2014 to the present as of 2017. It included a trail-rated edition of the known as the Cherokee Trailhawk.

BU: The Renegade was made from 2015 to the present, and was a 4x4 compact SUV with a trail-rated edition called the Renegade Trailhawk.