World Champion Bull Riders

of the Professional Bull Riders (PBR)

I often get e-mails asking who the past PBR World Champions are. Well wonder no longer because here they are, from the crowning of the first World Champion in 1994 to the current World Champion.

Professional Bull Riders (PBR) World Champions:


1994 - Adriano Moraes

1995 - Tuff Hedeman

1996 - Owen Washburn

1997 - Michael Gaffney

1998 - Troy Dunn

1999 - Cody Hart

2000 - Chris Shivers

2001 - Adriano Moraes

2002 - Ednei Caminhas

2003 - Chris Shivers

2004 - Mike Lee

2005 - Justin McBride

2006 - Adriano Moraes

2007 - Justin McBride

2008 - To be determined...

As you can see, we have one 3-time Champion, Adriano Moraes and two 2-time Champions, Chris Shivers and Justin McBride.

World Champions are determined in the PBR by who has the most Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) points at the conclusion of the PBR World Finals. Points are earned throughout the year at BFTS events and in the rounds of the World Finals.

World Champions receive a $1 million bonus, a trophy buckle and bragging rights for the whole year. Click the PBR category to learn more about the PBR on About Rodeo.

Stay up-to-date with About Rodeo by signing up for the Rodeo Newsletter
or Contribute in the Rodeo Forum.

(All statistics are courtesy of the PBR. All other writings and opinions are mine.)