FIFA World Cup Host Countries From 1930 to 2026

Decorated Street of Bars and Restaurants for the World Cup 2018

dabldy / Getty Images

Held every four years, the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) World Cup is held in a different host country. The World Cup is the major international soccer (football) competition, consisting of the nationally recognized men's soccer team from each country. The World Cup has been held in a host country every four years since 1930, with the exception of 1942 and 1946 due to the Second World War.

FIFA's executive committee selects the host country for each FIFA World Cup. The 2018 and 2022 World Cup host countries, Russia and Qatar respectively, were selected by the FIFA executive committee on December 2, 2010. On June 13, 2018, the 2026 host was selected through a new process, the open votes of all FIFA member countries.

Note that the World Cup is held in even-numbered years that are the interval years of the Summer Olympic Games (although the World Cup now matches the four-year cycle of the Winter Olympic Games). Also, unlike the Olympic Games, the World Cup is hosted by a country and not a specific city, as is the Olympic Games.

The following is a listing of the FIFA World Cup host countries from 1930 to 2026.

World Cup Host Countries

1930 - Uruguay
1934 - Italy
1938 - France
1942 - Canceled due to World War II
1946 - Canceled due to World War II
1950 - Brazil
1954 - Switzerland
1958 - Sweden
1962 - Chile
1966 - United Kingdom
1970 - Mexico
1974 - West Germany (now Germany)
1978 - Argentina
1982 - Spain
1986 - Mexico
1990 - Italy
1994 - United States
1998 - France
2002 - South Korea and Japan
2006 - Germany
2010 - South Africa
2014 - Brazil
2018 - Russia
2022 - Qatar
2026 - North America (united bid by Canada, Mexico, and the United States)