World Golf Championships (WGC)

About the World Golf Championships:

The World Golf Championships, or WGC, is a series of high-profile tournaments with international fields, considered the most important tournaments outside of the four majors and the Players Championship.

The World Golf Championships series tournaments were first played in 1999, and the WGC series at that time consisted of three tournaments. A fourth WGC tournament was added the following year, but in 2007 the WGC returned to a three-tournament schedule.

In 2009, a new WGC event returned the series to four.

The WGC's official Web site explains the purpose of the World Golf Championships series this way:

"The World Golf Championships events feature players from around the world competing against one another in varied formats (match play, stroke and team). A common qualification standard for the series is top players from the Official World Golf Ranking, which ensures a strong field. ...

"The World Golf Championships were developed to enhance the competitive structure of professional golf worldwide while preserving the traditions and strengths of the individual Tours and their events."

World Golf Championships Tournaments:

Dell Match Play Championship: Originally played at La Costa Resort in Carlsbad, Calif., this tournament has moved to The Gallery Golf Club at Dove Mountain in Tucson, Ariz. A field of 64 plays at match play until the winner is crowned in a 36-hole championship match.

More about the WGC Match Play Championship

Mexico Championship: Originally played at a different course each year, in 2007 the tournament became permanently sited at Doral Golf Resort in Florida. In 2017, it moved to Mexico. Originally known as the American Express Championship, and then the CA Championship and Cadillac Championship.

More about the WGC Mexico Championship

Bridgestone Invitational: Originally known as the NEC Invitational, the Bridgestone Invitational is played at Firestone Country Club in Ohio. More about the WGC Bridgestone Invitational

HSBC Champions: Beginning in 2009, the HSBC Champions joined the WGC roster. The HSBC Champions is played in China and debuted in 2005 as an event on the Asian and European tours.

Most Wins in WGC Tournaments:

Which golfers have won the most trophies in World Golf Championships tournaments? Tiger Woods dominates:

  • Tiger Woods, 18 WGC wins
  • Dustin Johnson, 3
  • Geoff Ogilvy, 3
  • Darren Clarke, 2
  • Jason Day, 2
  • Ernie Els, 2
  • Hunter Mahan, 2
  • Rory McIlroy, 2
  • Phil Mickelson, 2
  • Ian Poulter, 2
  • Adam Scott, 2

World Golf Championships Governing Body:

The World Golf Championships tournaments are the creation of the International Federation of PGA Tours, which itself was formed in 1996. The International Federation of PGA Tours' member tours are the Asian Tour, European Tour, Japan Golf Tour, PGA Tour, PGA Tour of Australasia and Southern Africa Tour.

Each WGC tournament is considered to be jointly sanctioned by all six members of the International Federation of PGA Tours.

Former WGC Tournaments:

The World Cup of Golf, an event played since the 1950s in which golfers represent their countries in 2-man teams, was brought under the WGC banner in 2000. It was played as a WGC tournament through 2006. But when the World Cup moved to China in 2007, it was dropped from the World Golf Championships.

The First WGC Champion:

The first tournament played under the World Golf Championships banner was the 1999 Match Play Championship. The winner was Jeff Maggert, making him the first-ever WGC champion.

More on the World Golf Championships
Official Web site