2016 World Indoor Championships Entry Standards

mla apa chicago
Your Citation
Rosenbaum, Mike. "2016 World Indoor Championships Entry Standards." ThoughtCo, Jan. 18, 2016, thoughtco.com/world-indoor-championships-entry-standards-3259401. Rosenbaum, Mike. (2016, January 18). 2016 World Indoor Championships Entry Standards. Retrieved from https://www.thoughtco.com/world-indoor-championships-entry-standards-3259401 Rosenbaum, Mike. "2016 World Indoor Championships Entry Standards." ThoughtCo. https://www.thoughtco.com/world-indoor-championships-entry-standards-3259401 (accessed October 18, 2017).
2015 outdoor decathlon World Champion Ashton Eaton will compete for heptathlon honors at the 2016 World Indoor Championships. Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Qualifying standards for the World Indoor Championships differ from the event’s outdoor counterpart. In the outdoor Championships, any athlete who achieves an “A” qualifying standard in his or her event, and is selected by the athlete’s home country, can compete. The World Indoor Championships use a combination of qualifying standards, world rankings and invitations to fill its events.

Schedule of Events for the 2016 World Indoor Championships

Running Events

For individual running events, each nation may enter up to three athletes – although only two can compete – provided that each athlete achieves the qualifying standard for his or her event. The qualification period runs from January 1, 2015 through March 7, 2016. The qualification standards are as follows:


60 meters: 6.65 seconds indoors or 10.15 in the outdoor 100 meters.

400 meters: 46.70 indoors or 45.10 outdoors.         

800 meters: 1:46.50 indoors or 1:44.00 outdoors.

1500 meters: 3:39.50 in the indoor 1500, 3:55.00 in the indoor mile or 3:33.00 in the outdoor 1500 meters.

3000 meters: 7:50.00 indoors, 7:40.00 outdoors or 13:10.00 in the outdoor 5000 meters.

60-meter hurdles: 7.72 indoors or 13.45 in the outdoor 110-meter hurdles.


60 meters: 7.32 seconds indoors or 11.20 in the outdoor 100 meters.

400 meters: 53.15 indoors or 51.20 outdoors.


800 meters: 2:02.50 indoors or 1:58.50 outdoors.

1500 meters: 4:13.00 in the indoor 1500, 4:30.00 in the indoor mile or 4:03.00 in the outdoor 1500 meters.

3000 meters: 9:00.00 indoors, 8:36.00 outdoors or 14:56.00 in the outdoor 5000 meters.

60-meter hurdles: 8.16 indoors or 12.90 in the outdoor 100-meter hurdles.

For the 4 x 400-meter relay, the IAAF will select the teams that may compete (10 men’s and eight women’s teams were selected in 2014). Each selected team is allowed six athletes.

Field Events

In the high jump and pole vault, the IAAF will select 12 athletes – with no more than two from any single country – based on a combination of the competitors’ entry standards (achieved during the qualification period) and their world rankings.

Entrants for the long jump, triple jump and shot put are selected in the same manner, except that a total of 16 athletes are chosen for each competition.

To be eligible for consideration, field athletes must also meet the qualification standards, which may be achieved either indoors or outdoors. The 2016 standards are:


High jump: 2.33 meters (7 feet, 7½ inches)

Pole vault: 5.77/18-11

Long jump: 8.18/26-10

Triple jump: 17.00/55-9¼

Shot put: 20.50/67-3


High jump: 1.97 meters (6 feet, 5½ inches)

Pole vault: 4.71/15-5¼

Long jump: 6.75/22-1¾

Triple jump: 14.30/46-11

Shot put: 18.10/59-4½

Combined Events

The World Indoor Championships include a seven-event men’s heptathlon and a five-event women’s pentathlon.

Each competition will feature a 12-athlete field, which will include:

The winners of the 2015 IAAF Combined Events Challenge. (Male: Ilya Shkurenev of Russia; female: Laura Ikauniece-Admidina of Latvia.)

The five top athletes from the 2015 Outdoor Lists, with no more than one athlete from any country. (Men: Ashton Eaton, USA; Trey Hardee, USA; Damian Warner, Canada; Rico Freimuth, Germany; Ilya Shkurenev. With only one American eligible, and with Shkurenev already eligible as the Combined Events Challenge winner, the next two eligible men on the list are: Kevin Mayer of France and Larbi Bourrada of Algeria.) Female: Brianne Theisen Eaton, Canada; Jessica Ennis-Hill, Great Britain; Carolin Schafer, Germany; Nadine Broersen, Netherlands; Laura Ikauniece-Admidina. With Ikauniece-Admidina already eligible as the Combined Events Challenge winner, the next person on the list is Barbara Nwaba of the USA.)

The five top athletes from the 2016 Indoor Lists, as of Feb. 29, 2016.

One athlete who will be invited by the IAAF

In total, no more than two male and two female combined events athletes from a single country may compete in the Championships. If any of the 12 athletes declines an invitation or is unable to compete, the IAAF will select a replacement, based on the above criteria.


A nation with no qualified or invited entrants may enter one male or female athlete in a running event, or – with approval from the appropriate IAAF Technical Delegates – one athlete in either the long jump, triple jump or shot put.

If the United States, as the host country, lacks a qualified or invited athlete in any event (other than the heptathlon and pentathlon), it may enter one competitor in that event. However, field event entrants must be approved by the IAAF Technical Delegates.

Athletes in all events other than shot put must be at least 16 years old as of Dec. 31, 2016. Shot put athletes must be at least 18 years old on that date.

Read more:

  • The 2014 Women's World Indoor Championship Medalists
  • The 2014 Men’s World Indoor Championship Medalists