World Series of Poker Main Event Winners List

WSOP Main Event Champs

WSOP Logo. World Series of Poker

The winner of the Main Event of the World Series of Poker earns the right to be called that year's World Champion of Poker. The Main Event is a $10,000 buy-in no-limit Texas Hold'em tournament. The winner takes home a prize that is now in the millions of dollars. The winner also receives the coveted World Series of Poker bracelet.

The final table is played in November at the Rio All Suite Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. The nine players who earn those slots are called the November Nine. Until 2005, the tournament was held at Binion's Horseshoe.

Here's who won the main event of the World Series of Poker, and how much they took home in prize money, from the first game in 1970 to recent winners.

2016: Qui Nguyen $8,005,310

2015: Joe McKeehen $7,683,346

2014: Martin Jacobson $10,000,000

2013: Ryan Riess $8,359,531

2012: Greg Merson $8,531,853

2011: Pius Heinz $8,715,638

2010: Jonathan Duhamel $8,944,310

2009: Joseph Cada $8,546,435. He won at age 21, dethroning Peter Eastgate as the youngest winner, with Peter setting that bar the previous year.

2008: Peter Eastgate $ 9,152,416

2007: Jerry Yang $8,250,000

2006: Jamie Gold $12,000,000

2005: Joseph Hachem $7,500,000. While the earlier rounds were played at the Rio All Suite Hotel and Casino, the final table was played at Binion's Horseshoe. This was the last time it would be held there.

2004: Greg Raymer $5,000,000

2003: Chris Moneymaker $2,500,000

2002: Robert Varkonyi $2,000,000

2001: Carlos Mortensen $1,500,000

2000: Chris Ferguson $1,500,000

1999: J. J. "Noel" Furlong $1,000,000

1998: Scotty Nguyen $1,000,000

1997: Stu Ungar $1,000,000

1996: Huck Seed $1,000,000

1995: Dan Harrington $1,000,000

1994: Russ Hamilton $1,000,000

1993: Jim Bechtel $1,000,000

1992: Hamid Dastmalchi $1,000,000

1991: Brad Daugherty $1,000,000. This marks the year of the first million dollar winner's award, which would continue until the turn of the century, when it would then escalate.

1990: Mansour Matloubi $895,000

1989: Phil Hellmuth $755,000

1988: Johnny Chan $700,000

1987: Johnny Chan $625,000

1986: Berry Johnston $570,000

1985: Bill Smith $700,000

1984: Jack Keller $660,000

1983: Tom McEvoy $580,000

1982: Jack Strauss $520,000

1981: Stu Ungar $375,000

1980: Stu Ungar $385,000. Stuey, or "The Kid," won the WSOP Main Event three times and many consider him the greatest Texas Hold'em player of all time. He died in 1998 at the age of 45. He was also an adept card counter and banned from playing blackjack at casinos.

1979: Hal Fowler $270,000

1978: Bobby Baldwin $210,000

1977: Doyle Brunson $340,000. Winning once again with 10 and 2, this time off-suit, the 10-2 is now known as the "Doyle Brunson." He was the first player to earn $1 million in poker tournaments.

1976: Doyle Brunson $220,000. Known as "Texas Dolly," Brunson won this tournament with a 10 and 2 of spades.

1975: Sailor Roberts $210,000

1974: Johnny Moss $160,000

1973: Puggy Pearson $130,000

1972: Amarillo Slim Preston $80,000

1971: Johnny Moss $30,000

1970: Johnny Moss. In this first year, there was no prize money. There were seven entrants and the champion was elected by vote. Johnny Moss went on to earn a total of nine WSOP bracelets from 1970 to 1988, and the nickname, "The Grand Old Man of Poker." He died in 1995 at the age of 88.